Chadwick Tyler by Sophia Mariano

Posted on February 16, 2011

0



How and when did you realize that photography clicked for you? And what did you first start shooting?

I was in my mid 20’s I was working as a creative director. I was working more and more with Photographers. It was just something that really inspired me. I started out shooting people. People fascinate me. To be able to share that second with someone and capture a part of them. There is nothing else like it.

 

Did you start as a fashion photographer? What was the road you travelled to get to where you are now?

I did not take the natural course. I am self taught for the most part. I just started shooting. That being said I had been around it for a while and came into it with basic knowledge of light and an understanding of how to get to point a to b. I did not start really as a fashion photographer. I would argue that I am not one now. I take pictures. My subjects are typically of women that are affiliated with the fashion business. For me it is more interesting how a woman can conform to a fashion and make it more interesting. My work is always about the woman.

Moving from Florida to New York City, did that change your work at all?

I would say that my work didn’t really start until I got to NY. I always have had ideas but I did not have a voice then. I don’t think I found my voice or my aesthetic for even the first few years in NY. I might even say that I am always refining that voice. I always am trying something new. I want the work to evolve I don’t want to create a look that can not continue to move forward.

What is it that you see in your models? And how do you bring that emotion to the forefront?

Every model is different. What I want to see is as much as I can while I have the time with them. By that I mean I want to help give them the freedom to explore themselves as people. To find emotions that they haven’t expressed or have the freedom to find emotions they didn’t know they had. It is all about being a part of a journey with them. Encouraging them and always supporting them.

Do you plan/see the final product of a shoot before its done? Or do you work intuitively and allow the model to dictate the mood of the shoot?

I never go into a shoot with a plan. I might have a rough idea of what I want to accomplish. A lot of that depends on the job, editorial or personal work that I might be working on for an upcoming show. For me it is very important to work with what you have. I never want to dictate a shoot I want to provide suggestions and directions but I think a shoot must ultimately dictate itself.

You have worked as a fashion photographer and shown work in galleries. What are some truthful words about the fashion industry? And the art world?

It is one of the worst businesses and most rewarding businesses i know. The competition is high. There is a limited amount of loyalty. It also is one of the most rewarding businesses that one could ever be a part. I would say the most truthful words about fashion or fine art is that it has to be your life, your obsession. If you like taking pictures do that, but do something else that will allow you to provide for yourself. You have to be willing to put every part of yourself in it. I think any true artist would say the same. It is not your art if you are not in it entirely. It is a tough business and very demanding. There are a lot of people that dream of being a professional photographer. At the end of the day you also have to have a point of view that people will listen to. Making beautiful images can be taught. Making iconic images can not.

Posted in: Uncategorized