Michael Massaia

Posted on April 18, 2011

0



Interview with Michael Massaia


1. How about the basics, what led to photography and printmaking? Did you receive any formal training?  

I did not receive any formal training.  I never went to college (I technically did not graduate high school).  I’m completely self-taught.

2. I was only introduced to platinum processing within the last year from a show at the Philadelphia Museum of Art, now I am amazed and seem to unconsciously seek it out. What led you to this difficult process?

It was a very long long road of experimentation that lead me to platinum printing.  I was very drawn to the idea of being able to make photographic print that will last forever.  Most photographic printing processes start to destroy themselves soon after they are created, where as platinum print if made properly will stand the test time.  It can be such a hard/frustrating process, but when you figure out your technique, a platinum print can truly be it a league of it’s own.

3. You are represented in NY, LA, Dallas, and New Jersey. How did you get yourself out there?

That’s tuff.  You have to work very hard on trying to first develop an original idea/aesthetic that you can show to galleries.  Once you feel you found this you have to push, push, and push some more.  Don’t be intimidated by anybody.  It was very hard for me when I first started because I would take criticism very personally; this was a big mistake.  If you keep pushing threw while other are giving up you will eventually get to where you want to be.  Plus, it’s good to study these galleries that are associated with the organization called AIPAD – http://www.aipad.com/

This organization will be a very good starting point for you to familiarize with all the very best photography galleries in the word.

4. Is there anyone you aspire to be like?

Not really.  I try not to get caught up in that.  I do my best to simply be myself.

 5. If you could give one piece of advise to a hopeful young photographer, what would it be?

Come up with original ideas, and then try to present that idea in a very technically competent way.   I think it’s very important to move and wow people with your prints.

An original idea is truly the hard part.  Look around your environment and try to notice the things that everybody seems to ignore, and think to yourself – would these things look good on a wall.

http://www.michaelmassaia.com/

-Molly A Dwyer

Posted in: Uncategorized